Thursday, July 5, 2012

EU Center visits University of Luxembourg

Photo: Todd E. Gleason
The EU Center's recent Summer Study Tour included a visit to the University of Luxembourg. Check out the University of Luxembourg's blog post on the subject below or by clicking here.

On 28 and 29 June, the University of Luxembourg welcomed a group of visitors from the University of Illinois’ European Union Center, in the framework of their study tour to Europe.

The group included the Director of the European Union Center, Prof. Bryan Endres, the Associate Director, Matthew Rosenstein, as well as several other representatives of the University of Illinois, as well as high school teachers and Illinois state representatives. They were received at the University of Luxembourg by Prof. Franck Leprévost, who gave a general presentation of the university. They also met with François Carbon, coordinator of espace culture s and were invited to a reception at the university with Paul-Michael Schonenberg – chairman and CEO of the American Chamber of Commerce in Luxembourg and of several university representatives.

The group spent a week in Brussels and Luxembourg in the framework of a study tour entitled Illinois and the European Union: Seeking Sustainable and Secure Connections in Food, Energy and Governance. In Luxembourg, they also visited the European Court of Auditors and were received at the Lycée technique du Centre for a presentation of the Luxembourgish school system.

A cooperation agreement between the University of Luxembourg and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign was signed in 2010 and a small group of PhD students and professors in the field of law from the University of Luxembourg visited the prestigious College of Law in Illinois in 2011. Another such visit is planned this year.

Prof. Bryan Endres and Matthew Rosenstein also took this opportunity to discuss further possibilities of cooperation with their counterparts at the University of Luxembourg. During their visit, they met with A.Prof. Corrado Malberti and Anne-Marie Vesdravanis from the Faculty of Law, Economics and Finance as well as Prof. Robert Harmsen and A.Prof. Harlan Koff from the Faculty of Languages and Literature, Humanities, Arts and Education.


Post a Comment

Cookie Settings